Ramen Stock Experiment v 2

Desiring a better ramen stock, undaunted by my salty, but deep flavor failure and in possession of two whole chickens I set about making ramen stock again.

First, I watched The Mind of Chef and took notes from David Chang.

Second, I went into the kitchen.

A whole chicken went into a stock pot with enough water to cover the chicken.  I could have cut the chicken apart, but I did not.  Next time I will just to avoid the floating chicken which happened during the process.

Over low heat I simmered the chicken until the meat was just about to fall off the bones.  This took roughly 2 and a half-hours.  Your time may vary, ours is due to a crappy stove.

While the chicken simmered away I cut the following up into large pieces:

  • 2 white onions
  • 4 carrots
  • 4 cloves of garlic (I peeled and cut them in half)
  • 1 bunch of green onions (after washing them thoroughly)

About mid-way through the simmering process I skimmed off the layer of fat and gunk off of the water.

When the chicken was done, remember just before the meat starts to fall off the bones, I pulled the chicken out and set aside.  Into the pot went all of the vegetables, some salt (measured by eye roughly 2 tablespoons), roughly 2 tablespoons of whole peppercorns, and four twists of a pepper mill.

I let the water continue to simmer until reduced by half.  I tasted several times along the way adding salt or pepper for taste.  When the water was reduced by half I strained the entire batch into a separate pot, the vegetables were discarded.  The new pot of water went back over the heat and I added roughly 2 tablespoons of soy and 2 teaspoons of sesame seed oil to the mix.

This simmered until reduced by a third.  Again tasting along the way, I did not have to add any additional salt or pepper.

Once done I put some into a pot along with some ramen, cooked.  Chicken which was pulled from the carcass was sliced thin put into the ramen stock to warm up.  Everything was served.

Notes: Chicken needed to be seasoned before eating.  David Chang suggested heavy salt, soy, and sesame oil.  Unseasoned the chicken picked up some of the flavor of the stock, but was still bland.

Stock has a mild flavor and as long as you taste during process the salt flavor and content is under control.

One thought on “Ramen Stock Experiment v 2

  1. Pingback: Ramen, A Story of Love | Speaking Out on Life

Take Part in the Conversation

