You Are An Interesting Person

“One man’s mundane and desperate existence is another man’s Technicolor.” -Tick, Strange Days

I do not know how to respond when people say, “You are an interesting person,” but this has happened several times in recent weeks here. Someone will be talking to me and then say, “You are a very interesting person.” Or some variation on that.

I don’t see it myself or maybe I choose not to see that because I lived (am living) my life and I don’t want to start thinking that I know more than I know or have done more than anyone else or any of those other things that people tend to do.

I know that there is more for me to learn and experience then all of my experiences to date.

I know that man who is sitting here typing this blog is not the same man you would have met even fifteen-years ago and that man might have actually threatened you just because that man was in a very different place than this man.  I know that I have done things that most people have not and most likely would not do or consider unless they had no other options.

I don’t regret anything that I have done.  Not even the stuff that makes people gasp.  Why bother with regret? I can’t change what I did for good or ill.  I can only learn from what I did and hopefully not repeat the ill ever again.  That is growth to me.

Still I am always confused when someone says “You are a very interesting person.”  I thought everyone was interesting in their own way.  Thus to me everyone is interesting in some way, even if I have to spend more time than I would like looking for that interesting part.

I don’t know.

Maybe one day I will talk more about who I used to be and compare it to who I am now, because I am not sure how I got here from there.

Take Part in the Conversation

