How Do I Find Time?

How do I find time to do this?

The “How do you find time to do this” question came up while my professor was looking over my portfolio. My professor liked what I have done. Even chuckling a couple of times at points where I hope people do chuckle. That made me feel good. My professor was suggesting I do an “About Me” page, not in the standard format, but continuing in the theme I have working which is my portfolio as told by Research Monkey PHD. While discussing ways to make this happen, I was showing the professor my other blogs and that is when the question came up. Typically, the question revolves around the blogging and writing. This question is asked often. I do not think about what I am doing or at least I do not think about how I do what I do.

  • I make sure that Barb and the kids have what they need or are able to get what they need.
  • I make sure that the schedules are in sync with life.
  • I cook dinner, lunch, but no breakfast.
  • I clean the house or make them clean up their messes-mostly the kids.
  • I do homework with the kids.
  • I go to class (when weather and disease allow).
  • I do my class work (usually 4 classes, this semester 3).
  • I do my homework.
  • I write on one to three blogs, each day. Now with the portfolio, four.

There is more, but I think that list covers the basics of my typical day/week. I don’t think about it. I do it. With the exception of cleaning the house, I don’t complain about it. I know this period of our life is not typical in any way. Most people my age are working, not going back to school full time. Most people my age have settled down into a comfortable routine. Perhaps there is a possibility when school is over that will happen to me.

I doubt that. I seriously doubt that. I enjoy what I do way too much to get into a comfortable routine other than what I continue to do each day. And that changes frequently. I may not like the semester to semester living and time keeping, but nothing stays the same for very long. There is always something new around the corner. Comfort is something I have learned to enjoy in small chunks. Too much comfort and I start to get complacent. Complacent means I stop working or writing…okay I stop writing.

Writing is an outlet for me. I need the outlet. When I don’t write I get cranky. I get cranky when I do, just not to the same degree. I am a cranky man. 🙂

So, how do I find time to write so much, I make the time. Simple as that. Writing is important to me. If something or someone is important to you, make the time for that thing or person. To cliché of an answer?

I bust my ass Monday through Friday to ensure that Saturday and most of Sunday are mine and my family’s to spend together. If I have to stay up late, I stay up late. If I have to work extra hard, I work extra hard. Each day, around 3 to 4 (sometimes earlier or later) I start thinking about a blog for the day. Then after I get the kids from school I write the blog. Non-blog writing, which can include school work, happens after the kids go to bed while I am listening to whatever is on the idiot box. The same goes for reading and other hobbies of mine. I do not recommend anyone else do this.

 

Take Part in the Conversation

