Slave and Whore To the Words In My Head

It was 4am and I was up writing.

5 hours later, I am writing and wishing many of the other students would leave the class.

8 hours later, I am eating lunch discussing script writing with a friend.

11 hours later, I am writing this post.

I am a slave and whore to the words in my head.

There was no reason for me to get up at 4am and write 615 words of erotica. I should have been sound asleep or as sound as I sleep. But the words would not go away. The images of the words would not go away. The more I tried to ignore them, the more they formed into cohesive ideas and sentences. I had to get up and write.

I could have sat through class listening to the inane chatter and questions of students who are not ready to graduate, but I chose to write. I opened my portfolio file and worked through questions that children 10 years younger would have asked. If not for a class in another room I would have stayed away. I got up, left to print and work, but there was a class there, thus I went back and continued writing.

Script writing is like poetry to me, something I appreciate because I do not write in those styles. Having a discussion where the topic was, “I wrote what needed to be in each scene, but the rest is up to the actors and director” was fascinating to me. I cannot imagine giving that much control to the audience/reader for a play or movie. Perhaps that is the best way to write something like that, focus on what you the writer feel is important to the story and let other people have room to play. Utterly fascinating to me.

Here I am now writing this post about how at times I have little control over the words in my head. I see them when I am writing and when I am brainstorming. I pluck them down, arrange them, and put them to paper or screen. Most of the time I am the one making the decisions, but there are times when the words demand to be written and I their slave and whore, I do their bidding. The lunch friend asked me why I didn’t write the idea down on a post-a-note and go back to bed, that is what he would do. I tried to explain how it is for me, but I do not think he was convinced.

Rarely is this a problem, sleep deprivation aside.

Take Part in the Conversation

