Cooking Kids…oops, Cooking With Kids

Before getting into cooking with the kids, take a gander (that means look at for those not as old as me :)) this:

Portfoliothat is my print portfolio on my table and off camera is a game of Adventure Time Card Wars, a game I later lost. Totally geeked! It looks like I wanted…well mostly. I found a typo on the back cover and the interior is black and white, but those are fixable, which is why color copies with the typo fixed are winging there way here. Crossing fingers those arrive in time too.

Today was a rainy day or at least it should have rained. The clouds hovered overhead all day, but barely a drop. Still with a rainy day in my head I set about writing and working for me. School work be damned! Plus I would play a game or with the kids and cook. All me things. I wrote out two of the last three chapters to the Training of Sara first story arc. I organized my notes for Stories From A Cyber Stroud game book. I put together the next to last version of Erotica of a Mad Man Volume 1, plus created the cover. And I cleaned up my file system.

Hungry and stinging from the loss of the Card Wars game I gathered the kids to make a quick and dirty potato soup. Word to the wise, do not say cook food and quick and dirty to children without being prepared to explain what quick and dirty means. More importantly there is no dirt involved in the dish. That took more time than expected. Kids organized we set out to make potato soup without a recipe, you know that is no big deal, but it impressed the hell out of the kids.

Our girl peeled carrots.

Our boy, who complained the most, but ended up doing the most picked through spinach, stirred, seasoned, and learned a lot about cooking.

I took care of the potatoes, onions, garlic, cutting the carrots, shallots, and everything else.

We had fun. Even when our girl knicked herself with the peeler, she took it like a warrior-blood be damned, peel the carrots first!

Here is the quick and dirty recipe:

  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 small onions, 1 diced the other three sliced
  • 6 carrots, peeled and cut into half-moon shapes (Kids word)
  • 2 stalks of celery, halved and sliced thin
  • 8 to 10 mushrooms, stem removed, sliced thin
  • 1 shallot, minced
  • 6 cups of chicken broth or stock
  • 1/3 cinnamon stick (our boy had to have this)
  • 1 bay leaf
  • salt and pepper
  1. In small pan with 1 tsp of butter over low heat, put garlic, diced onion, and shallot. Cook until browned 3 to 5 minutes. Set aside.
  2. Turn 7 qt. slowcooker to LOW or HIGH heat depending on how fast you want this to cook. Toss EVERYTHING, including food from step 1, into the slowcooker.

See quick and dirty.

I am leaning towards adding a half-cup of half-and-half along with half a stick of butter to give the soup a creamier texture. If this works out I will republish this in a more formalize manner. Cross your fingers…mine are busy typing this. 🙂

 

 

One thought on “Cooking Kids…oops, Cooking With Kids

  1. Pingback: So, About that Soup | Speaking Out on Life

Take Part in the Conversation

