Spongebob, Shichimi, and Me Redux

spongebob-sponge-out-of-waterA trip to the grocery store later and while bentoing, I made two of the shichimi mixes from this post. I made #2 and #3, for those who won’t use the link (shame on you :)) here are the ingredient lists:

Shichimi 2

  • 2 tsp white toasted sesame seeds
  • 3 tsp sichuan peppercorns
  • 1 tsp nori
  • 3 tsp dried orange peel
  • 3 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp black sesame seeds
  • 1 tsp poppy seeds

Shichimi 3

  • 2 tbsp black pepper
  • 1 tbsp dried orange peel
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp nori
  • 2 tsp black sesame seeds
  • 2 tsp white sesame seeds
  • 2 tsp minced garlic

Both mixes smell good, which is a good thing. Number 2 has a mild kick compared to Number 3. So far both are good on chicken, rice, shrimp, noodles, burgers, and everything else I have sprinkled some on. A little bit goes a long way. Once I used up these mixes I will make 1 and 4.

Between bouts of bentoing, waiting on the meat to thaw to make taco meat and nacho shapes, I watched Spongebob Sponge Out of Water. Long time readers and friends know I am a huge Spongebob fan. Yes, I have heard all of the comments and criticisms and I ignore them all and replace them with my reality. A reality filled with Spongebob. No spoilers here. Just an honest and heartfelt, IT IS AWESOME. Try to imagine a Spongebob version of the Avengers and you will be pleased…well I was pleased. So were my kids and even Barb laughed a few times.

Other than bentoing and watching Spongebob the only other thing I have been working on is the choose your own adventure idea I mentioned a few posts back. This has been more daunting of a task than I originally thought. I have a base line and intro worked out. I have a few side branches and the like worked out to give readers choices. The daunting part is how to implement this on a blog.

My original idea was to post the intro with the different choices as a poll. The choice with the most votes would be the next post. I like the interaction aspect from readers, but then I thought about me-I would want to be able to choose different paths.

Next idea was to post the story in chunks. Initial chunk would consist of the intro and first batch of choices. But I wondered how many people would want to wait X days until I posted the next chunk?

Currently, my idea is to post the entire adventure at one time. However, that would be a lot of work on my end at one time and that would be a lot of information dropped at reader’s feet. I don’t like either of those aspects. Connecting the blogs together so that the paths are correct is not something I want to mess up or have to do at one time. I don’t want to inundate readers with too much stuff.

While I work out the logistics, I work on the writing. If anyone has any thoughts on the logistics let me know as I am all ears.

Take Part in the Conversation

