I Should Be Writing

I should be writing, but I am not.

I could list all of the reasons why I am not writing, but I won’t because it will read like a list of excuses and the truth lay in the simple fact that I am not in the mood to write. What ideas I do have are put into a notebook or I write about them here and then I go about my day.

If I am not in the mood to write what am I doing with my time?

Bentoing has taken up a lot of my time, not in a bad way-you know this if you read this blog regularly-but to make enough food for a week’s worth of lunches for three people-one of the four of us does not eat lunch at least once a day-takes a lot of time and creative thought. After all who wants to eat the same stuff week after week? I know I don’t.

Reading, I am in a reading mood. Usually when I am in a reading mood I am not in a writing mood and vice versa. What am I reading? At the moment Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone for the second time. This time I am taking notes. Why notes, because we are working on a Pathfinder Adventure Card Game home variation for us. I am impressed with J.K. Rowling’s work, there is so much detail hidden on the pages from a character that likes to knit to details about school uniforms. Really makes the world of Harry Potter come alive. Very glad Peter Jackson did not do the movies because each book would be a trilogy-the director does love his details.

Effortless Bento edited by Shufunotomo is the other book I am reading. If you have The Just Bento Cookbook by Makiko Itoh and want more I recommend Effortless Bento. I also recommend Effortless Bento if you are interested in making food for bento boxes, however The Just Bento Cookbook seems to me to be better for beginners. Effortless Bento is beautiful to look at and to read. There is a lot of information packed into the book including a large section on packing and health, which is important as improper storage and packing can make a person sick. So far, I am not all the way through, there is very little recipe overlap.

What else have I been doing with my time? Playing games, but you get to read about that. 🙂 I have been playing a lot of Defiance. Defiance is MMO on the Xbox (I understand it is on other systems, but I don’t care about them). I started playing because I needed something shooty and explorey to occupy my time and burn off stress around finals time. The game is based on and follows the SyFy show of the same name, the show is interesting-not sure how I feel about the show other than interesting. I spend some time each day wandering around shooting things, finding things, and working with other players to shoot and find more things. If you happen to be on Xbox and play Defiance let me know.

Consolidation has been the other thing occupying my time. I have been working on consolidating my blogging into less than four blogs, preferably down to one. I enjoyed (notice the ed) having two blogs where I could put the variety of writing that is me. But of late as my writing topics around the edge shift again, a second blog is making less sense and honestly making posting to it feel like work. And that is not fun.

I do not know what I will end up doing. But I will let you know as I do.

Take Part in the Conversation

