This Is Not The Food You Are Looking For

Taco Meat

Meat Balls (taste like breakfast sausage in ball form-this is what “italian seasoning” from the store taste like)

Chicken for gyros

Chicken in Curry (leftover New Bride Chicken)

Teriyaki Steak Strips

Falafel

Blanched Broccoli

Blanched Cauliflower

Cauliflower with Curry

Curry and Parmesan Cheese Smashed Potatoes

Sesame Seed Bell Peppers

Honey Carrots

Brown Sugar Carrots

Pickled Beets

Pickled Radishes

Pickled Cucumber

Cucumber and Cabbage Salad

Teriyaki Glazed Brussels Sprouts

Rice, Long Grain for those interested

Rice, Jasmine

Cold Udon Noodles

That is a list of the food in the refrigerator, made during a day of bentoing and putting all of the food to use. Good example, a plan of mine was to take chicken thighs (bone in) to make new bride chicken curry and kijiyaki chicken. However, I did two things-one, not look at the size of the pan and thighs; two, “remember” that one child enjoyed the last batch of new bride chicken curry. These two things resulted in me skinning the chicken, because chicken skin in a batch of new bride chicken curry is gross. Skins are necessary for kijiyaki chicken, thus skins removed took that off the menu.

Following along? Recap-chicken thighs with no skin, new bride chicken curry is cooking away and time to add the chicken, except the pan is not big enough. Now I have thighs with no skin and no plan. What do I do with the skinless thighs, because kijiyaki chicken does not work without skins. Crap. Back up plan, toss thighs into crockpot to make soup.

Well now I have a fridge full of bentoing food (is anyone else using bentoing?), a large batch of new bridge chicken curry (because I thought the kids would be eating it…), and a soup in the works. Meanwhile, Barb has chapatti bread, banana bread, and caramel fudge brownies in the works. Did I forget the carrot and raisin raita (yogurt with shredded carrot and raisins)?

Getting the mental image of a lot of food, good food at that? I hope so. The “plan” was to have a bunch of food in the fridge, ready to go, for anyone to eat anytime that they were hungry. How awesome is that?

I thought it was awesome. I still think it is awesome. However…

“But I don’t want any of that.”

“Do we have any hotdogs?”

“Can I have some ramen?”

“Can you get me the bread so I can make a sandwich?”

What more can I say? I can say that one day, years from now, when I am visiting the children they will pay. I will get up in the middle of the night to ask for a glass of water. And do it again. I will sit through dinner prep, get the food in front of me, take a nibble of a nibble, and then I will hold up my thumb like a Roman Senator at the Coliseum and imperiously give the thumbs down while telling how the food was too spicy, sweet, or just now what I wanted. Speaking of which, could they make me a sandwich, fried chicken strips, or a hot dog. Hell to pay!!!!

 

Take Part in the Conversation

