My Fingers Are Purple

I have no idea how you feel about beets. I am in a middle ground. I love the color, there are lots of greens in the vegetable world, not a lot of purple, so a nice color to add to a plate. I am so-so about the taste. To date, two different beet preparations-one was too mustardy and the other the slices were to thick and not enough dressing which made making up my mind difficult. I enjoy working with them, like trying to slice jello when cooked. I don’t mind the beet juice everywhere, staining everything from hands to chopsticks to close to the cutting board-I was using the chopsticks to cook with. And here we are today…

PicklesThis is the stuff I am working-cooking with today; at least for right now as most of the rest of my storage is being washed. There is blanched broccoli and cauliflower. The cauliflower will get split into plain cauliflower and curry cauliflower. The broccoli will get added to dishes as I cook. There is pickled radishes, pickled turnips, and two pickled cucumbers; one is nothing special and the other has chili peppers added for a hint of heat when finished. The potatoes are for later, not sure what yet.

Unfortunately, I will not know how these turned out for another 12 hours or so. I really want some now on top of a bowl of ramen, but I can wait. The beets, not in picture, were boiling at the time to soften them up and make removing the skin easier. When I say easier, I mean grab, pull, and skin comes off.

The pickling brines are pretty simple: hot water, rice vinegar, sugar, and salt. Whisk and pour over vegetables. This is a much easier pickling brine than some I have used and seen where I am combining everything over heat and the house ends up smelling of vinegar. Not a smell I want for the day. Garlic, I am okay with and has the added benefit of keeping errant vampires away.

The pickle for the beets is different. This is more of a dressing or quick pickle than a true pickle. Cider vinegar and sugar with some dry mustard which is whisked together and poured over the beets. As with all pickles refrigerate and allow to pickle for at least 12 hours. I am hopeful that this is something that more than Barb likes.

As a follow-up to yesterday, all of us have recovered from too much sun. My face which was a shade of red not fit for anything other than a T-shirt has returned to it’s normal off white. Barb is very sunburned, think lobster. Our boy turned golden brown and our girl’s hair got some color and she is back to her normal pinkish tone. All in all a great end to a great day.

 

 

5 thoughts on “My Fingers Are Purple

    1. Ankoku1331

      That’s hilarious. You could do what Barb does which is use ziploc bags-her hands are not that big, but we are cheap and don’t want to buy gloves. 🙂

      Like

    1. Ankoku1331

      Never wear anything or have anything nearby-I have purple stained chopsticks now-I would have done it in the nude had I not been worried about being permanently stained purple. 🙂

      Like

Take Part in the Conversation

