Robotech RPG Tactics: Is No Update An Update?

I give up.

Palladium Books is remaining quiet. Sure, you could say the same two sentences which boil down to, “We are doing stuff, but can’t or won’t tell you what stuff we are or may be doing because you, the consumer, will read way more into what poorly constructed self-aggrandizing sentence I wrote and be mean to us. However, we are or may be doing stuff and we love the game as much as you do. P.S. this is totally not our fault and we could show you where it is not our fault, but see previous sentence as to why we don’t,” is them saying something…but it’s not.

I have zero respect for Palladium Books and their treatment of the backers or lack of treatment. I get it Kickstarter allows a company or person to do pretty much whatever they want once the Kickstarter is funded, there is no oversight. I get it that no oversight organization from the Better Business Bureau to Attorney General has any interest in this. Why should they, there is no money or fame to be had from chasing down yet another company that may or may not have doing something. So with no oversight and nobody caring and a “stop picking on us mentality” why should Palladium Books do anything for the backers?

Wayne Smith never did show the timeline of production. Not even another, “I’m working on it.” I am pretty sure that if something like did exist it is gone now, due to unforeseen issues that Palladium Books is having with manufacturers. What issues? Well, there is talk…rumor more like it…that Palladium Books is trying to reduce the part count for the remaining figures. Why bother at this point?

Whatever, is what I have to say to the whole mess.

What has Palladium Books done beyond nothing concrete on the missing figures? Well they printed “demo rules” with paper figures and finally got around to fixing the blast rules. Except that the fix is just as convoluted as the problem. When will someone over there learn how to write rules?

Rules should be easy to read and easy to understand. Bullet points and numbering work best to indicate an order of things. Bold and underline for emphasis, not as a style choice and for the love of whatever deity you pray to learn how to write for the modern era. What does that mean? Short sentences to the point. Yeah, yeah don’t point to my sentences, I am not writing for a pay check.

So what do I have for you? Nothing. The same nothing that Palladium Books has for the backers. They, meaning Palladium Books, seem fine with that. I could write down all of the speculation and there is a lot of it, but why bother.

So I give up. Not like my box of overly complex figures and convoluted rules has moved from the bottom of the “not gonna play pile.” I have other things to do and things that are a lot more fun.

4 thoughts on “Robotech RPG Tactics: Is No Update An Update?

  1. Dawfydd

    Yeah, I’m pretty much with you on this. If I get Wave 2 at some point, great, but not holding my breath. What I’ve got is in the back of my wardrobe, and I’m just worn out by all the blow-hards on the KS pages comments.
    Anyhow, I’ve got plenty of other minis & games from companies who can either meet their commitments or can at least communicate with their backers to currently or look forward to in the not-to-distant future.

    And hell, my main reason for backing (other than my appreciation for Robotech/Macross) – to get some nice minis I could proxy for Battletch – got wiped out when Catalyst announced their plastic redesigns of the Unseen that look MUCH nicer and have far fewer parts…

    Like

    1. Ankoku1331

      The endless speculation and lack of action by backers is depressing and off putting. Not as off putting as the complete disregard for backers by Palladium Books. Both combine to create a very negative atmosphere, which is unfortunate. At this point, if anything happens from either side-Palladium Books delivers or the backers organize and get their money back-I will be surprised.

      Like

    1. Ankoku1331

      I may do that. I have not done that because of my perception that Harmony Gold was not very concerned with their Robotech Brand Identity due the licenses that they hand out.

      Like

Take Part in the Conversation

