Two Popcorn Bucket Girl

I am fortunate enough to have seen every single Star Wars film in a theatre. Yes, I am old enough to have seen the original Star Wars (episode 4) in a theatre with my grandmother who fell asleep right when C-3PO fell into the wires and A2-D2 used his handy-dandy onboard extinguisher to put out the electrical fire.

I am a Star Wars fan and I have tried to instill that or a similar fandom into our children. While they are not old enough to have seen every movie in a theatre, they have seen Episode VII and Rogue One. Before those films, watching Clone Wars while it was on TV and again, on DVD and BluRay. While we had the correct channel (thank you cable providers) we watched Rebels, now we watch whole seasons when released.

Over the years (decades) I have amassed many questions, especially when Episodes 1 thru 3 were released. And like any good Star Wars fan I had my theories and engaged in lively conversation and debate over my questions and others. And as a Star Wars fan I was okay with not having answers to all of my questions, because if I am being honest, the one answer provided during Episode 1, metacholorians, was highly unsatisfying even if delivered by Liam Neesson.

The Star Wars fan, the movie fan, the child, and the adult in me are extremely happy.

I made a promise to take the children to see Rogue One. Just about everything, until today, has conspired to make a liar out of me. We even made plans to pull the kids out of school to go see the movie (yes in this case Star Wars is more important than a day of education) and you know what happened? Want to guess?

If you said, one of the worst snow-ice storms of the season, you would be correct.

But today, I fulfilled that promise. We took off without much warning to the theatre where thankfully there were very few people to potentially screw up the moment. I want to thank, with much sarcasm, Lego and Lego Magazine for ruining some of the surprise for my boy. He knew due to the kits produced and from stuff in the magazine some of the story line, characters, and other moments that had the rest of us saying…

WOW!

Still, he left like we did; wide-eyed, talking up a storm about what we witnessed, and experiencing a boatload of feels. Rogue One…sorry there will be no spoilers, I know that people can find reviews, full plot lines, and everything else out there…but I will remain silent for those few, who haven’t seen the movie…in my opinion is better than The Force Awakens. I left the theatre with the same emotional high Saving Private Ryan gave me, it was draining, overwhelming, worthy of long talks, and some deep thoughts.

A non-movie, but movie experience that went better for me this time than Force Awakens, I did not get pummeled in the ribs by a tiny fist seeking popcorn. We walked into the movie with a large tub of popcorn and ten minutes to go. A minute to start and Barb and I realize our girl has eaten a quarter of the bucket. Second bucket is necessary for the rest of us. And by movie’s end she was complaining of a sore tummy…of course it’s sore, she ate most of two buckets of popcorn. 🙂

This is a movie I need to see two more times just to be able to see everything I saw. The best thing about the first viewing, I got all but one of my Star Wars questions answered. All of them but one,

What is Yoda?

That was the only unanswered question. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Two Popcorn Bucket Girl

  1. Mom

    I want to see this one. I’ve been keeping up on Star Wars. Family tradition. Glad to hear that you have passed the love of this series on to the kids.

    Like

Take Part in the Conversation

