We’re Not Lost, Just Misplaced

I made a right instead of a left. I figured out my mistake well past the turn around and fix it stage. More around the “This doesn’t look familiar” and odd I don’t remember that many Amish buggies on the road anywhere near us.

Getting misplaced used to be a big deal for me. Now not so much and not because I have access to a map, but because

A.) I have misplaced myself entire states

B.) I have been misplaced enough that I enjoy the new scenery

C.) The kids were in the car and I thought this would be a good time to teach them some skills I never learned as a child

And that is what this post is about, skills to start teaching your children now before you get misplaced.

  1. Teach your children how to operate your phone. Sure you may think they know and they may say they know, teach them and make sure. Having a child who can operate the phone is a plus when misplaced.
  2. Teach your children how to work the map ap. Teach them how to input information. Teach them how to read the map. Teach them how to relay information, such as miles to next turn, name of next road, and other information that is infinitely useful and a pain in the ass to try to read while driving.
  3. Teach your children that getting lost is not a big deal. However, also teach your children how to be prepared just in case you get lost.
  4. Teach your children landmarks that they can easily recognize and remember. Nothing makes a misplaced person feel better then seeing something familiar on a route home.
  5. Teach your children to keep a look out for useful information, such as hospitals or churches or police departments. These places can give directions and if they cannot they have access to phones.

Those are the five things I learned this misplaced adventure. Once they realized that we were not truly lost nor stranded they started to enjoy the new scenery around us and even found us passing through Altona a second time funny. Seems that if I had kept going through Altona we would have gotten where we needed. I didn’t know that at the time because there was, no IS, no internet out in the boonies of Michigan.

Now I have two children who can assist me or another adult the next time we or they become misplaced.

Take Part in the Conversation

